Relaxing

Wooden birds more than a metre tall

Wooden birds more than a metre tall

Today is a day of rest. Although our bodies are tuned to rising early, I don’t think Brian got up before 7:30 AM and the rest of us 8 AM and later. We lazed about on the balcony trying to figure out how to secure a kiwi from the kiwi orchard behind us, even though they are not yet ripe, but they look ripe. Brian suggested using his fishing rod, but in the end we just admired the brave who were hang gliding beyond the orchard.

We walked to downtown Motueka to see what was there, stock up and for me to buy a hat with a brim. I left mine in Russell, but I am hoping the innkeeper will mail it to our last destination in New Zealand.

After lunch, snoozing and reading, we drove to nearby Neufeld winery, sampled a variety of whites and a Pinot noir, settled on a Chardonnay then went further down this German settled road to a sheep dairy and sampled their cheese tray with nine different cheeses. It’s too bad we didn’t have the wine sampling a to go with the cheese.

A few weeks before harvest grapes are covered in nets to keep birds out

A few weeks before harvest grapes are covered in nets to keep birds out

We enjoyed a swim in the waves at Kina beach where Kate had a hard time getting out at shore because the waves kept pushing her down. I found a few shells for my garden. I am limiting my collection so that I won’t have to buy an extra suitcase.

Neufeld Cheese

Neufeld Cheese

I walked a kilometre up the road from the motel to buy some Nashi pears At a roadside stand. I have not seen these in Canada, but they are something like a Japanese pear. We also bought fresh strawberries today. Delicious.

 

Leave a Reply

